Bay Area Z Association

A place for BayZA members to chill

Speedo and p/s problem

Ask technical questions, get technical answers.

Speedo and p/s problem

Postby asdad » Fri Mar 13, 2009 7:29 pm

So my speedometer and power steering died the other day, coincidentally during/right after I installed my new Z1 SMICs...but I'm sure that's completely unrelated.
Anyways, I replaced the speed sensor...and it still is not working. So that was a waste of $200. Now I have the gauge cluster out and all taken apart and can't seem to find anything wrong!
All the solder points seem to check out, although I am no expert. Anyone have any ideas? We checked and the speed sensor is getting a signal to the rear of the cluster...then it dies somewhere inside. Any ideas or help? This seems so random that something inside the cluster would just die like that one day, as I wasn't working anywhere near it when it died.

Thanks in advance,
-Matt

UPDATE:
Well, I tried swapping a N/A speedo into my cluster, doesn't physically fit but to see if it's actually the speedo itself I decided to hook it all up and see anyway. Still doesn't work.
So I tried swapping the little odometer motor from the N/A cluster to my cluster, as that's where the signal originates, then goes to the speedo, and still no luck. I'm running out of ideas =(
asdad

Re: Speedo and p/s problem

Postby TheOrteganator » Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:40 pm

Only thing I can think of is just replace the whole cluster to make sure you get the problem this time. I've seen a few parts cars on craigslist lately.
TheOrteganator

Postby jb.michael » Sun Mar 15, 2009 11:55 pm

Hey, any luck with it??
jb.michael

Postby asdad » Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:43 pm

Well, after waiting over a week for a new TT speedo to come from Nissan (back-ordered) I popped in to find out....IT STILL DOES NOT WORK!